RSS

The Road To Wisdom

11 Apr

Hello, and welcome to my new blog.

You’re probably wondering why I called it “Road to Wisdom”. Here are not three reasons why I’ve called it this:

-I’ve got wisdom figured out.
-You will most certainly find wisdom here.
-There is a point where you reach a fully wise state, and can end your journey to wisdom.

Hopefully number one is actually true and I’m just being humble. Or maybe I’m being proud and am trying to cover it up.

As you can see, I like humorous writing. However, I also think humour has its proper place. Because I intend to use this blog to post both theological thoughts and philosophical theories that I come up with, some of the things I will be writing about will be too sacred to joke about.

What is the point of this blog?
If you know me, you know that I love theories and discussions about theories, and coming up with theories. But when it comes to the Bible I have to take my theories and land them in truth, so that I can come down out of the ivory tower of philosophy and say something meaningful. Because of this, you will find posts about theological issues that I take very seriously and am searching deeply, in order to discover which lines up with what the Bible teaches. But then you will also find philosophical posts where I speculate on theories I have come up with. Often, these two categories blend (it is hard to be a theologian without using philosophy, and doing philosophy without grounding it in truth is like speculating about wind when you don’t know what air is). In all of these posts you are free to agree or disagree with me, and comments are always welcome. I will try to respond when possible.

I must make one thing clear, though: my goal is not to set straight what I perceive to be wrong theological or philosophical views today (though in some cases I won’t be able to resist this, I’m sure; in some cases, I may actually need to). Rather, I’m concerned with posting what I believe in my mind and heart to be the truth. You may find posts that disagree with my earlier posts, especially when they are theological. This is because I am constantly adjusting my theology to match what is actually the truth. You play a large part in this; I will always be glad when someone points out something that I have missed or provides a powerful insight.

Finally, I want to add that it is my goal that I try not to make my theology irrelevant for the believer, or simply something to hold to mentally. Theology must be applied. It is no good to claim that Jesus is God unless we also follow him because of it. The beginning of properly applying truth to life is the beginning of the walk down the road of wisdom.

That is actually what I mean by naming my blog “Road To Wisdom”. It is not because I’ve figured things out, but because I’m trying to figure things out (which is why it says “to”, and not “of”, wisdom). My goal is to share what I’ve learned and to be critiqued so that I can learn more too. Also, “path to wisdom” was already taken…

Thanks for reading. If you are intrigued, feel free to subscribe to this blog. I hope you find something I write to be either helpful in your spiritual walk or simply interesting to read.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 11, 2011 in General

 

2 responses to “The Road To Wisdom

  1. Joseph Kilada

    April 11, 2011 at 5:13 am

    Looking forward to reading your blog, Sam!

     
  2. pilgrim1030

    April 11, 2011 at 2:24 pm

    Samuel, this is beautifully said. I hope you can put into print some of the profundity that you have share with us around the kitchen table so that others outside of our family may benefit from the deep thoughts that come from you.

     

Leave a Reply

 
